Skip to content

Participants 2018

Loggia
Lunch on the terrace, Lucca, 2017

Aaron Hsu

Aaron Hsu

Indiana University

http://www.sacrideo.us
https://github.com/arcfide

arcfide@sacrideo.us, Bloomington IN

Adám Brudzewsky

Adám Brudzewsky

Implementor at Dyalog, and a second-generation array programmer. Adám runs the weekly APL class in The APL Room.

[LinkedIn.com]

adam@dyalog.com, Bramley, Hants.

Arthur Whitney

Arthur Whitney

A computer scientist most notable for developing the APL-inspired programming languages A+, K and q. He also wrote the initial prototype of J, a terse and macro-heavy single page of code, in one afternoon, which then served as the model for J implementor Roger Hui.

He studied pure mathematics at graduate level at the University of Toronto (Canada) in the early 1980s. He then worked at Stanford University (California, USA). Currently he is the CEO and co-founder of Kx Systems.

[Wikipedia]

Current project: http://kparc.com

arthur@kx.com, New York City

Attila Vrabecz

Attila Vrabecz

Veteran kdb+ developer and one of the instructors of the q masterclass at the Camp QB weekend.

attila.vrabecz@gmail.com, London

Devon McCormick

Devon McCormick

I run the New York City J Users Group, now in its eleventh year. You can take a look at what we've been up to here: http://www.jsoftware.com/jwiki/NYCJUG#Notes_on_Past_Meetings.

My main interests are graphical presentation of data, photography, and some topics relating to finance. I'm also interested in the gamification of learning, agent-based simulations, and Bayesian statistics.

At the moment, I'm particularly interested in getting J to take better advantage of the browser, especially in making use of the graphical and UI tools already available in this arena.

I'd be happy to provide any number of introductions to J, several of which I've already put together and presented to different groups. To this end, I've noticed that the best motivation for learning something is to have a problem you want to solve, so I welcome new projects along these lines.

devon@acm.org, New York City

Geo Carncross

Geo Carncross

Digital marketing, First Derivatives

Geo is one of the instructors of the q masterclass at the Camp QB weekend.

geocar@gmail.com, London

Gil Athoraya

Gil Athoraya

CEO of Data Analytics AB and convenor of the SwedAPL conference. Co-founder of The APL Room.

gil@data-analytics.se, Malmo, Sweden

Gitte Christensen

Gitte Christensen

CEO of Dyalog Ltd; lectures on Computer Science at the University of Copenhagen.

gitte@dyalog.com, Elsinore, Denmark

John Scholes

John Scholes

APL Enthusiast since the early 1970s

Functional Programming Evangelist

Dyalog Implementor

john@dyalog.com, Reading, Berkshire

Mark Sykes

Mark Sykes

Chief Operating Officer, Kx Systems

mark@kx.com, London

Mike Thomas

Mike Thomas

VP Development, Kx Labs

mike@bedarra.com, Ottawa, Canada

Morten Kromberg

Morten Kromberg

Chief Experience Officer at Dyalog Ltd, and a frequent speaker at conferences.

mkrom@dyalog.com, Elsinore, Denmark

Nicolas Delcros

Nicolas Delcros

Former implementor at Dyalog.

nicolas.delcros@orange.fr, France

Oleg Finkelshteyn

Oleg Finkelshteyn

Implementor, core team, Kx Systems.

oleg@kx.com, London

Pierre Kovalev

Pierre Kovalev

Implementor, core team, Kx Systems.

pierre@kx.com, London

Simon Garland

Simon Garland

Chief Customer Officer, Kx Systems,

simon@kx.com, Switzerland

Stephen Taylor

Stephen Taylor

Former editor of Vector, the journal of the British APL Association. Co-author of The Dyalog Cookbook. Co-founder of The APL Room. Librarian at Kx Systems: edits code.kx.com.

One of the instructors of the q masterclass at the Camp QB weekend.

http://code.kx.com
https://github.com/5jt/dyalog-cookbook

sjt@5jt.com, London