Participants 2017

Loggia

Aaron Hsu

Aaron Hsu

Indiana University, Bloomington IN

http://www.sacrideo.us
https://github.com/arcfide

arcfide@sacrideo.us

Arthur Whitney

Arthur Whitney

A computer scientist most notable for developing the APL-inspired programming languages A+, K and q. He also wrote the initial prototype of J, a terse and macro-heavy single page of code, in one afternoon, which then served as the model for J implementor Roger Hui.

He studied pure mathematics at graduate level at the University of Toronto (Canada) in the early 1980s.[2] He then worked at Stanford University (California, USA). Currently he is the CEO and co-founder of Kx Systems.

[from Wikipedia]

Current project: http://kparc.com

arthur@kx.com, Palo Alto CA

Charlie Skelton

Charlie Skelton

CTO Kx Systems, Switzerland

https://kx.com/2008/09/17/charles-skelton-to-be-kx-cto/

charlie@kx.com

Chris Lincoln

lincoln

APL since 1974. 2017 is a sabbatical year for rest, relaxation, recreation, residence renovation, and research relating to the next project, whatever that turns out to be.

Iverson College will be part of the search for a new muse.

lincoln@acm.org, New York City NY

Dave Thomas

Dave Thomas

Chief Scientist, Kx Systems, Ottawa ON

http://www.davethomas.net/

https://www.linkedin.com/in/davidathomas/

dave@bedarra.com

Devon McCormick

Devon McCormick

I run the New York City J Users Group, now in its tenth year. You can take a look at what we've been up to here: http://www.jsoftware.com/jwiki/NYCJUG#Notes_on_Past_Meetings.

My main interests are graphical presentation of data, photography, and some topics relating to finance. I'm also interested in the gamification of learning, agent-based simulations, and Bayesian statistics.

At the moment, I'm particularly interested in getting J to take better advantage of the browser, especially in making use of the graphical and UI tools already available in this arena.

I'd be happy to provide any number of introductions to J, several of which I've already put together and presented to different groups. To this end, I've noticed that the best motivation for learning something is to have a problem you want to solve, so I welcome new projects along these lines.

devon@acm.org, New York City NY

Dhru Patel

Actuarial developer, Equiniti Claybrook, Crawley, UK

  1. Developing a set of efficient utilities for representing our multi-dimensional benefit arrays with a 2-dimensional array of keys that indicate the value of each "dimension"
  2. Writing a parser to represent simple Excel expressions in APL+Win

dhrusham.patel@equiniti.com

Geo Carncross

Geo Carncross

Geo is the latest member of the kOS team, and the one who removed the last dependencies on the Linux kernel.

geocar@gmail.com, London

Jay Foad

Jay Foad

APL implementor since April 2010, when I joined Dyalog.

Working on: native code generation for loop fusion. Interested in: the minutiae of the syntax of dfns.

jay@dyalog.com, Bramley, Hampshire

John Scholes

John Scholes

APL Enthusiast since the early 1970s

Functional Programming Evangelist

Dyalog Implementor

john@dyalog.com, Reading, Berkshire

Maria Murphy

maria

First Derivatives. Working on a POC to develop a MiFID II solution using the Kx Stack.

Usually, I'll be working on presales projects, developing customised POCs to show off the power of the Kx stack in both financial and non-financial sectors.

mmurphy2@kx.com

Mike Thomas

Mike Thomas

VP Development, Kx Labs, Ottawa ON

mike@bedarra.com

Nicolle Eagan

Nicolle

Data scientist at First Derivatives, New York City

Currently working on Proof-of-Concept projects largely in finance. Most recently developing analytics on top of a FX flow/algo platform.

nicollemeagan.com

neagan@kx.com

Oleg Finkelshteyn

Kx Systems, London, kOS team

oleg@kx.com, London

Pierre Kovalev

Kx Systems, London, kOS team

pierre@kx.com

Rebecca Kelly

Consultant, First Derivatives, London

rkelly@kx.com

Sergey Vidyuk

Sergey Vidyuk

Kx Systems, London, core team

https://www.linkedin.com/in/svidyuk/

Simon Garland

Simon Garland

Chief Customer Officer, Kx Systems, Switzerland

Stephen Taylor

Stephen Taylor

APL programmer since 1974. Email handle SJT is older than the Internet. Former editor and implementor of Vector, the journal of the British APL Association. Currently Librarian at Kx Systems.

Working on tutorials and reference material for code.kx.com

http://5jt.com
http://code.kx.com
https://github.com/5jt/dyalog-cookbook

sjt@5jt.com London

Tim Thornton

Tim Thornton

Senior developer, Kx Labs, Ottawa

Functional Programming and Type Theory enthusiast, and organizer of the Functional Programming Ottawa meetup.

Working primarily in the implementation of a fast and expressive data visualization system for q building on the ideas of Wilkinson’s Grammar of Graphics. Interest in the combination of vector functional programming and static analysis motivated my undergraduate thesis in the design of a refinement type system for q.